Why ThinkPad?

My 2011 Macbook Pro has been my primary laptop for years, but I quickly learned that it was too heavy as an everyday school laptop. I thought about buying a keyboard case for my iPad Air, but the cases were already $50~$70 for a decent keyboard. I didn’t want to spend too much on something that was essentially going to be a glorified typing machine so I first looked at Chromebooks. They’re great, but they looked like cheap toys and had quite terrible keyboards unless you went higher end, which I wasn’t willing to do.

That’s when I found ThinkPads. I’ve always liked the sleek black look of ThinkPad’s, but I moved away from Windows years ago and didn’t want to go back. Apparently ThinkPad’s were really great machines to run Linux on with full driver support and while I’ve used Linux on and off on my home servers, I never really dived in as I still based my servers on Windows.

4 main points brought me to buying an x220.

1. Durable.
2. Repairable.
3. Cheap
4. Linux.

Durability is a huge point as I wanted the x220 to be a daily driving laptop. I didn’t want it to easily be decommissioned. If I was without a laptop in the middle of exams.. I don’t even want to think about it. Repair-ability also goes hand in hand with upgradability. Parts are easily had on eBay if anything ever breaks and there are plenty of upgrades available for this old laptop to bring it to usable in 2017. At around $200 for a used x220, that’s as cheap as laptops get. Pure Linux baby! Time to fully make the switch to Open Source goodness.

Leave a Reply

